Vegan Earl Grey & Lavender Cake

Happy Mother’s Day to all the momma-ladies out there! I have plans to meet my family for a celebratory brunch tomorrow morning and THIS fancy vegan cake will be in attendance, whether they like it or not. You can find my own recipe for this vegan Earl Grey and lavender cake with “cream cheese” frosting below, while an image of what it’s supposed to look like can be found here. It turns out that spreading frosting on a “naked” cake is considerably more difficult than spreading frosting on a normal one. Believe me, I was as surprised as you are. Alas…

Unclad baked goods aside, I’d like to wish a Happy Mother’s Day to my wonderful mom, Mindy. Before you scroll down for the recipe and photos, take a peek at a couple of things I’ve enjoyed reading and reflecting on this week:

Our Mothers as We Never Saw Them

MR Writers Club Prompt: Tell Us What “Mom” Means to You

tumblr_lqaud0ztr41qcry5jo1_500

 

Vegan Earl Grey Cake and Lavender Cake with “Cream Cheese” Frosting

 

fullsizeoutput_358d.jpegfullsizeoutput_3598fullsizeoutput_3596.jpeg

Vegan Earl Grey and Lavender Cake

Ingredients:

4 Earl Grey teabags (I had Harney & Sons Earl Grey Supreme on hand)

2 tablespoons dried culinary lavender

3 cups cake flour

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 cups almond milk

1/3 cup coconut oil

1 tablespoon almond butter

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350F and grease baking pans. I used two 9″ circular pans.

2. Bring almond milk to a boil in a small saucepan and steep four Earl Grey teabags until aroma is rich and color darkens. The longer you steep the teabags the more flavorful the cake will be—I probably steeped mine for about 10 minutes.

3. While teabags are steeping, mix oil, almond butter, and vanilla extract in a medium mixing bowl.

4. In a slightly larger mixing bowl, combine cake flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and dried culinary lavender.

5. Slowly pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix thoroughly. Once combined, evenly divide the batter into baking dishes and bake until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Because I split my batter into two pans, my cakes were done in about 20 minutes.

6. Let cool, frost the layers, garnish, and enjoy!

Vegan Cream Cheese Frosting:

Ingredients:

1/2 cup of vegan cream cheese, softened (I used Toffuti brand)

1/3 cup of vegan butter, softened (I used Earth Balance brand)

2 1/2-3 cups powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

1. Mix cream cheese, butter and vanilla into a large bowl and whisk or beat until smooth.

2. Add powdered sugar in 1/2 cup increments until desired consistency is reached.

3. Spread over cooled cupcakes or cover and refrigerate.

For those of you who are interested, I found this link really helpful in the creation of this recipe.

Leave a Reply

