Scrunchies: The Secret to Managing Short Hair

I did it! After about five years of debating on whether or not I’d look like Miranda Hobbes from Sex and the City with short hair, I finally said screw it—we’re all Miranda SOMEtimes. So I took the plunge. I cut about nine inches of my long, blonde, award-winning hair (I won “Best Hair” in high school hehe) and I absolutely love it. No regrets. But, as predicted, some days my likeness to the red-headed New York lawyer is a little too close for comfort. Don’t know what I’m talking about? Please refer to the photo below posted by my new favorite Instagram account, Every Outfit on Sex and the City.

screen-shot-2016-10-12-at-8-59-21-pm

Within days of chopping my locks just above the shoulder, I realized that I had underestimated just how time-consuming styling my thick, layered, naturally wavy hair would be. Making matters worse, the outcome would often be seriously disappointing despite the time and effort. My quick fix? Scrunchies. Yes, I suppose a normal hair tie might get the job done, but I love thick scrunchies for the volume they provide and the statement they make. Poke fun, but I actually ran to my local Ocean State Job Lot and picked up two sets of five scrunchies for about five bucks—one earth-toned set and the other a little more funky. My hair routine went from a shameful 15 minutes to a speedy 30 seconds. I’m a fan of the messy half-up/half-down look with wispy bangs framing the face.

In Miranda’s defense, I suppose she was probably over the scunchie trend by the time the late 90s/early 2000s rolled around. But they’re back! And still a trendy, quick, and simple way to style hair.

Processed with VSCO with 5 preset

Leave a Reply

