Vegan/GF Banana Cupcakes

Photographed and posted here are some of the TASTIEST cupcakes I have ever had in my life, not to mention baked myself (!!!). The even better news? They’re both vegan and gluten-free—two elements that I’ve found myself incorporating into much of my cooking and baking recently. Accompanied by a nice, hot cuppa, these banana cupcakes with “cream cheese” frosting and toasted pecans were the perfect addition to my Sunday afternoon.

To make these cupcakes I drew from three different recipes, which can be found on Food.com, Healthy-Delicious.com, and Minimalistbaker.com. The following recipe is a combination of the three, but with my own twist.

Ingredients:

1/3 cup coconut oil

3/4 cup sugar (I actually ran out of organic sugar cane and used agave nectar instead)

1 cup mashed bananas (I used three bananas)

1/2 cup almond milk

1 tablespoon almond butter (I used Nature’s Promise brand)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 1/2 cups gluten-free baking flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill brand)

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F and line a 12-cup muffin tin.

In a large mixing bowl, beat together coconut oil, sugar, bananas, almond milk, almond butter and vanilla.

In a second mixing bowl whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Mix dry ingredients with wet ingredients and beat until thoroughly combined.

Divide batter into the 12-cup muffin tin and bake 18-22 minutes. Check with a toothpick and let cool before frosting. (I was too excited and actually removed the cupcakes from the tin and placed them in the freezer until cool enough to frost).

Once frosted, sprinkle with toasted pecans (totally optional).

Vegan Cream Cheese Frosting:

1/2 cup of vegan cream cheese, softened (I used Toffuti brand)

1/3 cup of vegan butter, softened (I used Earth Balance brand)

2 1/2-3 cups powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

1. Mix cream cheese, butter and vanilla into a large bowl and whisk or beat until smooth.

2. Add powdered sugar in 1/2 cup increments until desired consistency is reached.

3. Spread over cooled cupcakes or cover and refrigerate.

4. Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

